Now stay home but someday travel

(テューダーとゴシックが美しい)セント・ジョンズ・カレッジ St. John’s College

(テューダーとゴシックが美しい)セント・ジョンズ・カレッジ St. John’s College

(観光おすすめ度★★★★★)セント・ジョンズ・カレッジは、イギリスのイングランドのケンブリッジにあるカレッジです。
St. John’s College (the College of St. John the Evangelist in the University of Cambridge) is a college in Cambridge, England, the United Kingdom.

St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College

セント・ジョンズ・カレッジは、ケンブリッジ大学を構成するカレッジです。このテューダーのカレッジは、1511年にヘンリー7世の母であるマーガレット・ボーフォートによって創設されました。大門には、福音記者ヨハネの像があります。
St. John’s College (the College of St. John the Evangelist in the University of Cambridge) is a constituent college of the University of Cambridge. This Tudor college was founded by Lady Margaret Beaufort (mother of Henry VII of England) in 1511. The Great Gate contains a figure of St. John the Evangelist.

St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College

第1の中庭は、1511~1520年に建てられました。正面の区域は今もテューダー様式ですが、第1の中庭は段階的に変更されています。南の区域は1772~1776年にジョージ王朝様式に上塗りされ、元々の中世の礼拝堂を含む北の区域は19世紀にヴィクトリア様式に建て替えられました。
First Court was built from 1511 to 1520. The court has since been gradually changed though the front (east) range is still in the Tudor style. The south range was refaced from 1772 to 1776 in the Georgian style and the north range including the original medieval chapel was rebuilt in the Victorian style in the 19th century.

St. John's College
St. John's College

セント・ジョンズ・カレッジ礼拝堂は、1866~1869年に建て直されました。聖歌隊席の慈悲の支えは、1516年にさかのぼり、古い礼拝堂から回収されたものです。
The Chapel of St. John’s College was rebuilt from 1866 to 1869. The misericords date from 1516 and were salvaged from the old chapel.

St. John's College

礼拝堂の塔は、50メートルの高さで、ケンブリッジで最も高い構造物です(次いで、ケンブリッジ大学図書館、キングス・カレッジ礼拝堂)。
The Chapel Tower is 50 metres high and is the tallest structure in Cambridge (followed by the Cambridge University Library and King’s College Chapel).

St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College

第2の中庭は、1598~1602年に建てられ、イングランドで最も美しいテューダー様式の中庭と描写されてきました。シュルーズベリー・タワーは、第3の中庭に通じています。シュルーズベリー・タワーは、大門の鏡像として建てられました。シュルーズベリー・タワーには、中庭の融資者であるシュルーズベリー伯爵夫人メアリー・タルボットの像があります。
Second Court was built from 1598 to 1602 and has been described as the finest Tudor court in England. Shrewsbury Tower leads to Third Court. The tower was built as a mirror image of the Great Gate and contains a statue of the benefactress Mary Talbot, Countess of Shrewsbury (because the court was financed by her).

St. John's College

第3の中庭は、1672年に完成しました。
Third Court was completed in 1672.

St. John's College

ケム川が、セント・ジョンズ・カレッジの敷地の中を流れています。ため息橋が、ケム川の上を渡し建物を結んでいます。ため息橋は、1831年にゴシック・リヴァイヴァル様式で建てられました。この見事に装飾された渡り廊下は、ヴェネツィアの「ため息橋」から名付けられました。ため息橋は、ケンブリッジで最も写真を撮られる構造物の一つです。
The River Cam flows through St. John’s College. The Bridge of Sighs connects buildings over the river. The bridge was built in the Gothic Revival style in 1831. This highly decorative covered passageway is named after the Bridge of Sighs in Venice. The bridge is one of the most photographed buildings in Cambridge.

St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College
St. John's College

新中庭は、1826~1831年にゴシック・リヴァイヴァル様式で建てられました。新中庭は、ケンブリッジで最も知られている建物の一つです。この華やかな中庭には、ウェディングケーキという愛称があります。
New Court was built from 1826 to 1831 in the Gothic Revival style. The court is one of the best known buildings in Cambridge. This flamboyant court is nicknamed The Wedding Cake.

ケンブリッジ CambridgeLatest Posts (Category)