Now stay home but someday travel

(数学橋によって闇と光が結ばれている)クイーンズ・カレッジ Queens’ College

(数学橋によって闇と光が結ばれている)クイーンズ・カレッジ Queens’ College

(観光おすすめ度★★★★★)クイーンズ・カレッジは、イギリスのイングランドのケンブリッジにあるカレッジです。
Queens’ College (the Queen’s College of St. Margaret and St. Bernard) is a college in Cambridge, England, the United Kingdom.

Queens' College

クイーンズ・カレッジは、ケンブリッジ大学を構成するカレッジで、1448年に創設されました。
Queens’ College (the Queen’s College of St. Margaret and St. Bernard) is a constituent college of the University of Cambridge and was founded in 1448.

Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College

古中庭は、1448~1451年にゴシック様式で建てられました。古中庭は、かつての学生図書館や現在の学生図書館などに囲まれています。現在の学生図書館は、当初の礼拝堂で、現在は戦争記念図書館と呼ばれています。戦争記念図書館は、第二次世界大戦に従事し亡くなったクイーンズ・カレッジの卒業生や在校生を称えて名付けられました。
Old Court was built in the Gothic style from 1448 to 1451. The court is surrounded by buildings including the former student library and the present student library. The present student library is the original chapel and is now called the War Memorial Library. The library was named in honour of Queens’ College alumni and members who died in the service of World War II.

Queens' College

古会館が、古中庭と回廊中庭の間にあります。古会館は、元々の食堂で、今も特別な機会に用いられています。
Old Hall is located between Old Court and Cloister Court. The hall is the original dining hall and still used on special occasions.

Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College

回廊中庭を形作る回廊は、古中庭と川岸の建物を結ぶために、15世紀に建てられました。北の木骨造の建物は、胡桃の木の中庭に通じ、西の建物はケム川に通じています。
The cloister walks forming Cloister Court were erected in the 15th century to connect Old Court with the riverside buildings. The timber-framed building on the north leads to Walnut Tree Court and the building on the west leads to the River Cam.

Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College

胡桃の木の中庭は、回廊中庭の北東にあります。胡桃の木の中庭は、かつては1292年に創設されたカルメル会の修道院があった場所でした。その後、胡桃の木の中庭は、1616~1618年に建てられました。
Walnut Tree Court is located on the northeast of Cloister Court. The court was formerly the site of a Carmelite monastery founded in 1292. Afterwards the court was built from 1616 to 1618.

Queens' College

カレッジの礼拝堂は、1891年に聖別されました。
The college chapel was consecrated in 1891

Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College
Queens' College

数学橋(正式な名前は「木の橋」)は、ケム川に架かるクイーンズ・カレッジの古い半分(学生により愛情を込めて「闇の側」と呼ばれている)と新しい西側の半分(「光の側」、正式には「島」)をつないでいます。数学橋は、ケンブリッジで最も写真に収められる情景の一つです。数学橋は、アイザック・ニュートンによってボルトやナットを用いず設計そして製作されたという有名な伝説があります。伝説には続きがあり、ある技術者が数学橋を分解し再組立てをしようとしたが失敗したということです(ボルトやナットを用いずには)。そのため、現在の数学橋にはボルトやナットが見えるというわけです。しかし、この伝説は実際には誤りです。数学橋は、ニュートンの死から22年後の1749年に地元の大工によって建てられました。数学橋は、後に1866年に修繕され、1905年に完全に建て直されました。
The Mathematical Bridge (officially named the Wooden Bridge) crosses the River Cam and connects the older half of Queens’ College (affectionately referred to by students as the dark side) with the newer western half (the light side, officially known as the Island). The bridge is one of the most photographed scenes in Cambridge. Popular fable is that the bridge was designed and built by Sir Isaac Newton without the use of nuts or bolts. The myth continues that an engineer tried to disassemble and reassemble the bridge but failed (without the use of nuts or bolts). This is why nuts and bolts can be seen in the bridge today. And yet this story is actually false. The bridge was built in 1749 by a local carpenter, 22 years after Newton died. The bridge was later repaired in 1866 and was completely rebuilt in 1905.

ケンブリッジ CambridgeLatest Posts (Category)