Now stay home but someday travel

(よく保存された中世の市壁)カーナーヴォン市壁 Caernarfon Town Walls

(よく保存された中世の市壁)カーナーヴォン市壁 Caernarfon Town Walls

(観光おすすめ度★★★★★)カーナーヴォン市壁は、イギリスのウェールズのカーナーヴォンにある一連の城塞壁であり、ユネスコ世界遺産「グウィネズのエドワード1世の城郭と市壁」の一部です。
Caernarfon Town Walls are a sequence of defensive walls in Caernarfon, Wales, the United Kingdom and is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Castles and Town Walls of King Edward in Gwynedd.

Caernarfon Town Walls

カーナーヴォン市壁は、734メートルの長さでカーナーヴォン旧市街を周ります。カーナーヴォン市壁は、イングランド国王エドワード1世によってウェールズ征服の一部として1283~1292年にカーナーヴォン城とともに建設されました。このカーナーヴォン城と市壁の事業は、イングランドから連れて来られた大量の労働者を用いて完成しました。カーナーヴォン市壁は、珍しいほどによく保存されています。カーナーヴォン市壁には、8つの塔、2つの元々の門(西門と東門)と後に作られた新しい町への入口(市場通りの入口、北門、緑の門など)があります。
Caernarfon Town Walls form a 734 metre long circuit around the old town of Caernarfon. The town walls were constructed along with Caernarfon Castle from 1283 to 1292 by Edward I of England as part of his conquest of Wales. This project of the castle and the town walls was completed using large quantities of labourers brought from England. The town walls are unusually well preserved. The town walls have 8 towers and have the 2 original gates (the West Gate and the East Gate) as well as newer entrances to the town (such as the entrance to Market Street, the North Gate and the Green Gate) made later.

Caernarfon Town Walls

カーテンウォールと塔が、ともにカーナーヴォン城の防御線を形成しています。北東の塔と女王の門が、カーナーヴォン城の東面に立っています。
The curtain walls and the towers together make up the a defensive line of Caernarfon Castle. The Northeast Tower and the Queen’s Gate stand on the eastern side of the castle.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

黒の塔、家令の塔、女王の塔が、カーナーヴォン城の南面に立ち、鷹の塔が、北西の角に立っています。
The Black Tower, the Chamberlain Tower and the Queen’s Tower stand on the southern side of Caernarfon Castle and the Eagle Tower stands at the north west corner of the castle.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

カーナーヴォン旧市街を周るカーナーヴォン市壁は、カーナーヴォン城の北西の角から北へ海沿いに延びています。旧市街への門は、カーナーヴォン城の王の門に続きます。
Caernarfon Town Walls around the old town of Caernarfon extend from the northwest corner of Caernarfon Castle towards the north along the sea. The gate to the old town leads to the King’s Gate of the castle.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

西門は、カーナーヴォン旧市街への2つの元々の入口の一つです(もう一つは東門)。西門と東門は、おそらくカーナーヴォン市壁とともに1292年までに完成しました。西門は、波止場に面し、「黄金の門」の名前でも知られていました。中世には、この名(コンスタンティノープルの第一の門の名であった)は、ローマ帝国とアーサー王の力の姿を呼び起こしました。西門は、元々は落とし格子で守られていましたが、19世紀にゴシック様式の特徴とともに改修されました。
The West Gate is one of the 2 original entrances to the Old Town of Caernarfon (another is the East Gate). The gates were probably finished along with Caernarfon Town Walls by 1292. The west gate faced onto the harbour and was also known as the Golden Gate. In the medieval times this name would have evoked images of imperial Roman and Arthurian power (as it was the name of the primary gateway in the city of Constantinople). The west gate was originally defended by a portcullis but was modified with additional Gothic features in the 19th century.

Caernarfon Town Walls

西門の外には、メナイ海峡が広がっています。
Outside the West Gate lies the Menai Strait.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

聖母マリア教会が、カーナーヴォン市壁の北西の角に立っています。聖母マリア教会は、14世紀初めに建てられました。聖母マリア教会は、カーナーヴォン市壁の外側の町の教区教会の礼拝堂でした。建物は、1811年頃に再建されました。
The Church of St. Mary nestles into the northwest corner of Caernarfon Town Walls. The church was built in the early 14th century. The church was a chapel of a parish church of a town outside the town walls. The building was rebuild around 1811.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

カーナーヴォン市壁には、2つの元々の門(西門と東門)と後に作られた新しい町への入口があります。カーナーヴォン市壁の北側には、教会通りへの小さな入口、市場通りの入口、北門が、作られました。
Caernarfon Town Walls have the 2 original gates (the West Gate and the East Gate) and newer entrances to the town made later. On the north side of the walls were made the small entrance to Church Street, the entrance to Market Street and the North Gate.

Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls
Caernarfon Town Walls

東門は、カーナーヴォン旧市街への2つの元々の入口の一つです(もう一つは西門)。東門と西門は、おそらくカーナーヴォン市壁とともに1292年までに完成しました。東門の門楼は、建てられてから、最初は王室の財務省、次に市庁舎、最後はギルドホールに使われました。それらは、20世紀には取り除かれました。東門は、中世、18世紀、19世紀の建築のまざった姿を今日では見せています。
The East Gate is one of the 2 original entrances to the Old Town of Caernarfon (another is the West Gate). The gates were probably finished along with Caernarfon Town Walls by 1292. The gatehouse contained offices for most of the period since its construction, first housing the royal exchequer, then the town hall and finally the guildhall. The offices were finally removed in the 20th century. The gate now shows a mixture of medieval, 18th century and 19th century architecture.

カーナーヴォン CaernarfonLatest Posts (Category)