Now stay home but someday travel
(ヴェネツィアの中心)サン・マルコ広場 Piazza San Marco

(観光おすすめ度★★★★★)サン・マルコ広場は、イタリアのヴェネツィアにある広場であり、ユネスコ世界遺産「ヴェネツィアとその潟」の一部です。
Piazza San Marco (St. Mark’s Square) is a square in Venice, Italy and is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, Venice and its Lagoon.

Piazza San Marco

サン・マルコ広場は、ヴェネツィアの中心的な広場です。ヴェネツィアの他の全ての広場は(サン・マルコ小広場とローマ広場を除いて)、カンポと呼ばれる一方、サン・マルコ広場は、ピアッツァ、単に「広場」として広く知られています。サン・マルコ広場は、ヴェネツィアの最初の守護聖人であった聖テオドロスに献堂された総督の最初の礼拝堂に起源があります。聖テオドロスの礼拝堂は、おそらく819年頃に建てられ、現在のサン・マルコ大聖堂の場所の近くに立っていました。福音記者マルコの聖遺物が828年にアレキサンドリアからヴェネツィアにもたらされ、ヴェネツィア人は福音記者マルコを新しい守護聖人としました。聖遺物を収めるための新しい教会が、832年までに既存の礼拝堂の南に建てられました。サン・マルコ広場は、12世紀までに現在の形になりました。サン・マルコ広場は、ナポレオンによって「ヨーロッパの応接間」と呼ばれたそうです。
Piazza San Marco (St. Mark’s Square) is the principal public square of Venice. The square is generally known just as la Piazza (the Square) while all other urban spaces in the city (except the Piazzetta and the Piazzale Roma) are called campi (fields). The square originated from the first chapel of the Doge dedicated to the first patron saint of the city (St. Theodore of Amasea). The chapel was probably built about 819 and stood near the site of the present St. Mark’s Cathedral Basilica. The relics of St. Mark the Evangelist were brought to the city from Alexandria in 828 and the Venetians adopted the apostle as their new patron. The new church to house the relics was built on the south side of the existing chapel by 832. The piazza became its present form by the 12th century. It seemed that the square was called the drawing room of Europe by Napoleon.

Piazza San Marco

アーケードが、サン・マルコ広場の北面、西面、南面に続いています。北面の建物は、旧行政館として知られています。旧行政館は、当時のヴェネツィア共和国の高官であったサン・マルコの行政官達の官邸でした。旧行政館は、ルネサンス期の1517年から建てられました。西面の建物は、1810~1813年にナポレオンによって改築され、ナポレオン翼として知られています。ナポレオン翼には、コッレール美術館の入口があります。南面の建物は、新行政館として知られています。新行政館は、1582~1586年に一部が建てられ、1640年に完成しました。地上階には、1720年創業の有名なカフェ、カッフェ・フローリアンがあります。
The long arcade continues on the north side, the west side and the south side of Piazza San Marco. The buildings on the north side are known as the Procuratie Vecchie (the old procuracies). The buildings were the homes and offices of the Procurators of St. Mark who were high officers of state in the days of the republic of Venice. The buildings were built from 1517 during the Renaissance times. The building on the west side was rebuilt by Napoleon from 1810 to 1813 and is known as the Ala Napoleonica (the Napoleonic Wing). The building now has the entrance to the Museo Correr (Correr Museum). The buildings on the south side are known as the Procuratie Nuove (the new procuracies). The buildings were partly built from 1582 to 1586 and were completed in 1640. The ground floor has the Caffè Florian, a famous cafe opened in 1720.

Piazza San Marco

ムーア人の時計塔が、旧行政館の隣、サン・マルコ広場の北面に立っています。時計塔は、1496~1499年に建てられました。時計塔のアーチ門は、リアルト橋方面へのショッピングストリートに続いています。
The Clock Tower (the Torre dell’Orologio) stands next to the Procuratie Vecchie on the north side of Piazza San Marco. The tower was built from 1496 to 1499. The archway of the tower leads to shopping streets towards the Rialto Bridge.

Piazza San Marco

サン・マルコ大聖堂は、ヴェネツィアのカトリック教会の大司教区の大聖堂です。サン・マルコ大聖堂は、イタリアのビザンティン建築の最も知られた実例の一つです。サン・マルコ大聖堂は、サン・マルコ広場の東の端に、ドゥカーレ宮殿の隣に立っています。最初の教会は、832年までに福音記者マルコの聖遺物を収めるために建てられました。最初の教会は、976年に焼失しましたが、978年に修復されました。現在の聖堂は、おそらく1063年から建設されました。奉献は、1085年、1093年(最もよく引用される)、1102年、1117年と、様々に記録されています(おそらく別々の部分の奉献の一連)。サン・マルコ大聖堂は、元々は総督の礼拝堂で、1807年以降に大聖堂になりました。サン・マルコ広場とサン・マルコ大聖堂は、2016年の映画「インフェルノ」(ダン・ブラウンによる2013年の同名小説に基づく)の撮影が行われた場所の一つです。
The Basilica Cattedrale Patriarcale di San Marco (the Patriarchal Cathedral Basilica of St. Mark) is the cathedral of the Catholic Archdiocese of Venice. The basilica is one of the best known examples of the Italian Byzantine architecture. The basilica stands at the eastern end of the Piazza San Marco and next to the Doge’s Palace. The first church was built to house the relics of Mark the Evangelist by 828. The church was burnt in 976 and was restored in 978. The present basilica was constructed from perhaps 1063. The consecration is variously recorded as being in 1085, 1093 (the date most often taken), 1102 and 1117 (probably reflecting a series of consecrations of different parts). The basilica was originally the chapel of the Doge and has been the cathedral only since 1807. The square and the basilica are some of places where the 2016 film Inferno (based on the 2013 novel of the same name by Dan Brown) was filmed.

Piazza San Marco

サン・マルコの鐘楼が、サン・マルコ広場の南の角に立っています。サン・マルコの鐘楼は、サン・マルコ大聖堂の鐘楼です。サン・マルコの鐘楼は、98.6メートルの高さがあります。サン・マルコの鐘楼は、ルネサンス期の1514年に現在の形になりました。サン・マルコの鐘楼は、1902年に崩壊し、1912年に再建されました。
The Campanile di San Marco (St. Mark’s Campanile) stands at the south corner of Piazza San Marco (St. Mark’s Square). The bell tower is the bell tower of St. Mark’s Cathedral Basilica. The bell tower is 98.6 metres tall. The bell tower reached its present form in 1514 during the Renaissance times. The bell tower collapsed in 1902 and was rebuilt in 1912.

ヴェネツィア VeniceLatest Posts (Category)