Now stay home but someday travel

(古代ローマ公衆浴場)ディオクレティアヌス浴場 The Baths of Diocletian

(古代ローマ公衆浴場)ディオクレティアヌス浴場 The Baths of Diocletian

(観光おすすめ度★★★☆☆)ディオクレティアヌス浴場は、イタリアのローマにある遺跡であり、ユネスコ世界遺産「ローマ歴史地区、教皇領とサン・パオロ・フオーリ・レ・ムーラ大聖堂」の一部です。
The Baths of Diocletian are ruins in Rome, Italy and is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Historic Centre of Rome, the Properties of the Holy See in that City Enjoying Extraterritorial Rights and San Paolo Fuori le Mura.

The Baths of Diocletian
The Baths of Diocletian

ディオクレティアヌス浴場は、古代ローマの公衆浴場でした。ディオクレティアヌス浴場は、ディオクレティアヌス帝の名前が付けられ、298~306年に建設されました。ディオクレティアヌス浴場は、最も大きな帝国公衆浴場でした。水の供給は、マルキア水道(2世紀始め以来ローマに長く供給していた)から受けました。ディオクレティアヌス浴場は、東ゴート族が水道を止めた537年のローマ包囲戦まで、使用されていました。サンタ・マリア・デッリ・アンジェリ・エ・デイ・マルティーリ聖堂が、16世紀に教皇ピウス4世によって遺跡となったディオクレティアヌス浴場のフリギダリウムの内部に建てられました。
The Baths of Diocletian were public baths in Ancient Rome. The baths were named after Emperor Diocletian and were built from 298 AD to 306 AD. The baths were the largest of the imperial baths. The water supply was provided by the Aqua Marcia (the aqueduct had long served the city since the early 2nd century). The baths remained in use until the siege of the city in 537 when the Ostrogoths cut off the aqueducts. The Basilica of St. Mary of the Angels and the Martyrs was built inside the ruined frigidarium of the baths by Pope Pius IV in the 16th century.

Piazza della Repubblica
Piazza della Repubblica

共和国広場が、ディオクレティアヌス浴場の隣に位置しています。共和国広場の形状は、ディオクレティアヌス浴場の大きな半円形の柱廊(エゼドラ)から形作られました。そのため、共和国広場のかつての名前は、エゼドラ広場であり、今なお非常によく使われています。共和国広場の周りの現在の新古典主義様式の柱廊は、1887~1898年に建てられました。共和国広場の噴水は、元々、1888年に完成し、マルキア水道につながっていました。噴水の彫刻は、ナーイアス(水の精)達に1901年に置き換えられました。
Piazza della Repubblica is located next to the Baths of Diocletian. The shape of the piazza was formed by the large exedra of the baths. Therefore the former name of the piazza is Piazza Esedra and is still very common today. The current Neoclassical porticos around the piazza were built from 1887 to 1898. The fountain in the piazza was originally completed in 1888 and connected to the Aqua Marcia aqueduct. The sculptures of the fountain were replaced in 1901 with those of Naiads.

ローマ RomeLatest Posts (Category)