Now stay home but someday travel

(壊れた橋)ポンテ・ロット Ponte Rotto

(壊れた橋)ポンテ・ロット Ponte Rotto

(観光おすすめ度★☆☆☆☆)ポンテ・ロットは、イタリアのローマにある壊れた橋であり、ユネスコ世界遺産「ローマ歴史地区、教皇領とサン・パオロ・フオーリ・レ・ムーラ大聖堂」の一部です。
Ponte Rotto (the Pons Aemilius) is a broken bridge in Rome, Italy and is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Historic Centre of Rome, the Properties of the Holy See in that City Enjoying Extraterritorial Rights and San Paolo Fuori le Mura.

Ponte Rotto

ポンテ・ロットは、中央のアーチ一つが今日残存している全てであるように「壊れた橋」を意味しています。ポンテ・ロットは、元々は、アエミリウス橋と呼ばれていました。同じ場所にテヴェレ川に架かる木造の橋の存在があり(紀元前192年に言及されている)、そして、最初の石造りの橋が紀元前179~142年に建てられました。ポンテ・ロットは、フォルム・ボアリウムをトラステヴェレ地区と結びました(トラステヴェレは「テヴェレ川の向こう側」の意味です)。ポンテ・ロットは、洪水によって何度も損傷を受けました。ポンテ・ロットは、1230年に最初の厳しい損傷を受け、教皇グレゴリウス11世によって再建されました。ポンテ・ロットは、1557年の洪水によってさらに厳しい損傷を受け、再び後に教皇グレゴリウス13世によって再建されました。今日のポンテ・ロットの残骸は、グレゴリウス13世の橋の再建を詳述するラテン語の碑文を今なお残しています。最終的に、1575年と1598年の洪水が、東側半分を洗い去りました。ポンテ・ロットは、数世紀の間、打ち棄てられていました。1853年に、教皇ピウス9世は橋の残骸を鉄製の歩道橋で陸と結ばせましたが、重い金属は石の構造の健全性を弱めました。その後、残る半分は、パラティーノ橋のための場所を空けるために1887年に撤去されました。
Ponte Rotto means a broken bridge as a single arch in the middle is all that remains today. The bridge was originally called the Pons Aemilius. There existed a wooden bridge crossing the Tiber in the same location (mentioned in 192 BC) and then the first stone bridge was built from 179 BC to 142 BC. The bridge connected the Forum Boarium with Trastevere district (the name of the district means Beyond the Tiber). The bridge was damaged several times by floods. The bridge was first severely damaged in 1230 and then was rebuilt by Pope Gregory XI. The bridge was more seriously damaged by the flood of 1557 and again was later rebuilt by Pope Gregory XIII. The remnants of the bridge today still bear Latin inscriptions detailing his renovation of the bridge. Finally floods in 1575 and 1598 carried the eastern half away. The bridge was abandoned for several centuries. In 1853 Pope Pius IX had the remnants of the bridge connected to the mainland via an iron footbridge but the heavy metal weakened the structural integrity of the stone. Afterwards the remaining half was demolished in 1887 to make room for Ponte Palatino.

ローマ RomeLatest Posts (Category)